How I Started Programming

How I Started Programming

Hi everyone i'm : Furkan Kizilay

Welcome to my blog, where I will write about my experiences while learning programming, and the topics that I think may be useful. In this blog, I will describe my experience of getting started with programming.

Where I Started Programming

Firstly, like everyone ı was did so many research about programming. As I researched, I realized how comprehensive programming is and that there are many different areas to improve myself.

download.png

The one common thread in every article I read about how to get started with programming was that programming should start with learning algorithm logic. So I started programming with learning algorithms, ı bought some algorithms books in my language and read some books. When i started learning something i didn't have a computer so i could only learn theoretically.

Programming Language and English

After gaining knowledge of algorithms, I had to choose a programming language to learn. I decided to learn Python because it is easy to understand. I learned Python from books in my language again. After finish this book ı got some courses at Udemy. this courses were in my language again.

After finishing the book and completing the courses, I felt like I fell into a void because when I finished these I thought I could do anything with python. At the very least, I wanted to see something concrete that I could do with the knowledge I had learned.

c517b4e261b09415335fe133d497b87c.gif

I didn't trust my English to learn anything. But I knew that if I'm going to be a programmer, I need to improve my English. I started to improve my English while learning programming.

1621504127_20392_gif-url.gif

Choosing Career Map

When I look back now, I think that I made a good start in programming, but perhaps I missed the most important detail and I had not determined my career path. I researched for a long time to determine my career path, I needed to find the most suitable one for me. As a result of my research, I became interested in deep learning, machine learning and data science, but as a person with a programming background of 3 months, I was afraid of the difficulty of the subjects I need to learn for AI, and I thought that it would be healthy to learn AI after I chose another field and improved my programming knowledge. (not exactly a good idea)

career-project-management.webp

Since I wanted to see something concrete, I thought mobile development was the right career path for the moment. Since I don't think it's the right decision, I won't dwell on it too much. First of all, I started learning Java (I'm glad I did, it helped me a lot at school), then I made simple application developments with Android Studio. Being aware of the fact that I need to learn on a cross platform, I took Flutter trainings and made application developments with Flutter. Before long, my interest in this field waned and I realized that I really did not want to further my career in this direction.

Reasons-Why-You-Should-Consider-Mobile-Developer-than-Web-Developer.jpg

It was time to put my career path on the route I wanted to specialize in. After doing the longest and most comprehensive research I have done so far, I learned about data science, machine learning and deep learning, and I prepared a study plan.

12eca-machine-learning.gif

This is how I started programming. In my next blogs, I will explain my data science and machine learning study plan, the resources I use and the route I follow.